Western Australia

Roebourne Community and Visitor Information Portal

Do you like Roebourne?
Map of Roebourne, Western Australia
Latitude, Longitude:   Zoom level:


Roebourne Home Page

An Australian made website for Roebourne that benefits Locals, Tourism and Business.
SITE NEWS: List your Business - Trades and Services Directory NOW OPEN
On the Social Page -  Click Here be the first to try Roebourne Chat and invite friends!

Try for the Front Page on your Australian Community Network website.
Do you know a great local photographer? Email Or your friend.

Shire of Roebourne

The Shire of Roebourne is a Local Government Area in the Pilbara Region of Western Australia, roughly 1,532 kilometres north-north-east of Perth, the state capital. With the Indian Ocean immediately to the north, the Shire forms part of Australia's north-western boundaries. The LGA was named in honour of John Septimus Roe, the first Surveyor-General of Western Australia. It comprises seven towns, namely Cossack, Dampier, Karratha, Point Samson, Roebourne, Whim Creek, and Wickham.

The Shire of Roebourne was established as the Roebourne Road District in 1910 following the merging of three distinct governmental entities-the Municipality of Roebourne, the Cossack Road District, and the Roebourne Road District (all founded in 1887). It later became a Shire in July 1961 following the Local Government Act of 1960. Its neighbouring LGAs are Ashburton and Port Hedland.

With the town of Karratha as its Council Seat, the Shire of Roebourne is represented in the Legislative Assembly of Western Australia by the Electoral District of North West, as well as by the Federal Division of Durack in the Australian House of Representatives. It has an estimated population of 19,143 residents within a 15,234-square-kilometre area.

Thanks to its cultural, historical, and natural heritage, the Shire of Roebourne has a number of attractions for locals and visitors alike to experience, enjoy, and appreciate. Some of the most notable locales in and around the Local Government Area include Burrup Lookout, Burrup Peninsula, Cattrall Park, Cossack, Dampier Archipelago, Dampier Foreshore, Harding Dam, Hearson's Cove, Honeymoon Cove, Jaburara Heritage Trail, Karijini National Park, Millars Well Reserve, Millstream, Montebello Islands, Mount Herbert, Old Roebourne Gaol, Point Samson Park, Reader's Head, Rotary Lookout, and Stairway to the Moon.

Main Menu
Ladies Only A Book for Chefs Am I Chef How we earn income! Earn Money from your Website or Blog